Skip to content

Stuck

September 18, 2011

On Friday I got stuck in a service lift at work for an hour. In between floors. I even prized the doors open (damaging my oldest ring in the process. Locked lift doors are stubborn) when it clanked to a stop and saw brick. While I was sitting on the floor, looking up at the mannequins standing above me, I really hoped I wasn’t going to die… at work. Of course, there was little chance I was going to die (unless the cable snapped or the oxygen ran out), but let me tell you it was the longest hour of my life. I was so bored! I didn’t have a watch or a phone, or anything to entertain myself (when I told the boyf this later on, he said he would have fashioned a ball out of the rubbish in there… my mistake). It was a strange experience though – I wasn’t scared or claustrophobic, I was just left with my thoughts and the odd person coming to a lift door and shouting to me. I thought about my boyfriend, my friends, my family, if I was going to get out in time to say goodbye to Carly on her last day, how strange my skin was, what my last words were, what I ate last (a slither of carrot cake I had made), what song I last heard, if I would mention this on my blog (obviously)… I tried not to think of the lift cable.

Top by Primark

Cardigan by Urban Outfitters (Sample sale)

Skirt by H&M

Tights by New Look

Socks by H&M

Loafers by Primark

Nails in Revenge by 17 (purple shimmer) and Shimmy Shake by Collection 2000 (gold sparkle)

PS. This H&M skirt is the best skirt in the world, I am currently living in it. I was also ~*skirt twinz*~ with my friend Carly on her penultimate day at work because everyone wants it! My two-tone nails were really easy too, here is a video tutorial but all you need is two nail colours and a sponge.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 10:24

    The skirt is gorgeous, perfect leather length for everyday wear.

    That sounds like a horrific hour, I don’t know which would be worse being by yourself or having to make chat with someone you didn’t know. x

  2. September 18, 2011 23:44

    Love the leather skirt, looks great! Getting stuck in a lift, how awful!! xxxx

  3. September 19, 2011 13:06

    Hey emilyy! I’m so sorry about your lift nightmares! It makes your realise how active we force ourselves to be.. strangely. I have a ring almost identical! and i Love doing two tine nails too, i was inspired by shini of park and cube :)

  4. Angela Donava permalink
    September 19, 2011 21:13

    Le manucure est super!

    Angela Donava
    http://www.lookbooks.fr

  5. September 22, 2011 13:43

    I love your skirt, but your nails look fantastic!

  6. September 23, 2011 19:30

    Love your skirt!

Leave a Reply!

