Skip to content

Car booty

September 14, 2011
tags:

I had such an amazing time at the car boot sale last Sunday when I was visiting my parents for the weekend! I spent £8 (including the 50p each for my mum and me to get in) – these are some of the things I found. I also got some clothes, but I’m sure they will find themselves being featured on here soon in an outfit post or two! I saw some old lady clothes hidden at the back of a plastic sheet, and the woman who was selling them was absolutely baffled by my delight in the midi floral pleated skirts. I absolutely love car boot sales! They remind me of when I was younger when me, my mum and my sister all got up extra early on a Sunday morning (after sorting through our clothes, videos (aaah, VHS.) and toys (sob) for weeks beforehand) to set up pitch at the local car boot. I would be freezing, hungry and slightly tired, but I still loved it. The smell of my mum’s instant coffee when she opened the thermos. The silly games me and my sister would play while my mum collected punters money. The money I had “earned” being spent on equally rubbish little bits and pieces from other people’s stalls which I would think were amazing at the time… or at least until I got home that afternoon. I went to a car boot in Battersea a few months ago, and was rather disappointed – it was overly crowded and ridiculously overpriced. Me and the boyf were hot and unimpressed, and we lasted about an hour before heading off. I think I’ll stay clear of London car boots for the moment… Unless anyone else has had a better experience? In the meantime, I will save my car boot visits for when I go back to my parents house for the weekend.

A gorgeous glass pot which I have used for delicate rings and hair clips. The lid has a mirror on the inside. Kicking myself I didn’t get the matching other two! I think it was 50p in the end.

My mum found this pop up New York map for me when I go there next February.

Hedgehog hedgerow tin tray (25p).

Glass jar which I have used for cotton wool balls (20p), and I picked up the Stella half pint for the boyf (25p).

What do we have here?

A brownie! Not sure if it’s in working condition, but I had to have it for a mere 50p. I’d found a (slightly better) box brownie a few stalls before but the guy was asking £20 for it. That is an excellent price, but I couldn’t justify it. Instead, I went for the 50p bargain.

Picked up these Beatrix Potter books for the boyf – all four for £1.

This was marked 10p…

… I liked the Ipswich lettering, so I got it but she gave it to me for free when I bought…

… This lovely vintage leather bag for £1.

Happy days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 18:52

    What bargains! I love it all, especially the NYC map.

  2. September 14, 2011 19:07

    Ah so cute and quirky! Love it all!
    Claire xx
    http://www.thefashionfreak.co.uk

  3. September 14, 2011 20:59

    lovely bag :)

  4. September 14, 2011 22:22

    aw i used to LOVE those books! I had a video of the Beatrix potter ballet and at the age of 7it was basically my lifes ambition top play jeremy fisher in a performance of it… hahahah oh childhood!

  5. September 15, 2011 20:07

    Oh wow, what gorgeous things! The bag is a total steal, it’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply!

