Skip to content

Look magazine competition entry

August 5, 2011

Ever since I can remember, I have been aware, conscious, a follower of fashion. I was ecstatic when I got my first retail job in Miss Selfridge when I was 18. I remember being so excited on my first shift; touching the clothes and eagerly helping out the customers. A few years later I went to University because I wasn’t sure what to do with my life. I ended up studying Film Studies… Which was 100% useless to me, so I dropped out after two years and never received my degree. (Luckily I met my boyfriend there, so I don’t see it as a complete waste of time!) During this time at University, I landed myself a sales assistant job at a small Topshop store in my home town during the summer holidays. This led me to a London Topshop, which soon got me into Visual Merchandising.

For those of you who haven’t got a clue what a Visual Merchandiser is, we are the fairies (or gremlins? It’s a close call) who make the stores you shop in beautiful. The windows, the displays, the in-store pretty things, sometimes the merchandising on a rail or wall bay, the layout of the store, even the painting. It’s very hard work and it’s mostly very awful pay. I have been a Visual Merchandiser for a few years now, working my way through three major high-street brands to where I am now. It’s got its ups and its downs like any job, but one thing I love is that no two days are the same. I’m often non-stop and I think the sales assistants think I’m a crazy whirl-wind of  sweaty madness.

But back to the point of this post. For the entire time I have loved fashion I have of course loved fashion magazines, which in more recent years has evolved into fashion blogs. I love how they connect with the reader on such a higher level than magazines. Glossies such as Vogue and Elle are coveted but blogs are so much more relatable to the everyday reader. They are real. They are the fashion being worn right now by real people. I love to see how bloggers interpret trends in completely different ways, incorporating their own personal style into every outfit. You can see how they experiment with new looks and be there to see their style evolve and grow. Fashion can be reported right here right now rather than once a month. I think blogging is wonderful, in a completely different way to glossies, and I respect this form of media so much more now thanks to modern technology.

I would love to be a professional blogger, and be paid for what I enjoy doing. I love getting home at the end of the day to read the many blogs I follow (and not just fashion!) and even post on my blog too. I would be so happy to be given a chance at starting this career off by reporting front row at the Look AW11 show. Other bloggers reading this should definitely enter this competition. Thank you Look for giving us bloggers a chance!

Top by R&R (Sample Sale)

Cardigan by Urban Outfitters (Sample Sale)

Necklace by Forever21

Skirt by New Look

Loafers by Primark

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2011 15:42

    Oh, nice job! I remember the VMs at my Whistles and they were lovely; always well-dressed and great to talk to, albeit very busy.

    I love your hair in these photographs, can be a very unforgiving hairstyle but it really suits you.

    Good luck with the competition! x

Leave a Reply!

